You only need to log in if you want to see your ticket history.

RSS Feed
News Posts
Posted by Gabrielle Long on 19 March 2018 05:52 PM

NOTE: If your site is already in Volunteer View, this notice does not apply to you.

VolunteerHub is dedicated to providing a secure, positive and user-friendly experience to you and your volunteers. Over the years, information security on the web has become more and more important, and as a result, websites and browsers have increased their security standards. One such update was announced in a recent blog article from Google, in which the web giant explained that Google’s Chrome browser will show a “Not secure” warning to users attempting to access any unencrypted site as of July 1st, 2018. Therefore, to ensure your volunteers’ information remains secure and that your volunteers feel comfortable using your VolunteerHub site no matter the browser, VolunteerHub will no longer support the unencrypted (http) Classic View of the volunteer interface in the future and will move all sites to Volunteer View.

All current Plus, Pro or Enterprise sites will be migrated to Volunteer View automatically on the evening of June 28th, 2018. Legacy “Starter” plan sites will also be migrated to Volunteer View at that time. 

Administrators are urged to convert their sites to Volunteer View prior to this date to ensure their volunteers receive a positive user experience as a result of the transition. This step is essential to protecting your volunteers’ information and experience in your site as well as ensuring you and your volunteers are receiving the latest VolunteerHub updates and features!

Continue reading below for more detail regarding this decision.

What's in this article?

Who does this change affect?

This change affects only what volunteer users see in sites not yet in Volunteer View and has minimal effect on administrative functionality. If your site is already in Volunteer View, this change does not affect you.

Not sure if your site is in the latest version? Click the Volunteer View button at the top of your site. If you see a red banner that states the view is not public, then you are not in Volunteer View.

How do I convert my site to Volunteer View?

Rather than wait until the automatic cut-off date, we highly recommend you convert your site to Volunteer View prior to the cut-off to ensure your volunteers receive the best experience possible and that all settings in your site are optimized for Volunteer View before it switches over. A video tutorial on how to convert a site from Classic View to Volunteer View can be found in this portion of a recent webinar. Please note that once you've converted your site to Volunteer View, that change is permanent and cannot be reversed, so be sure you're ready before clicking the activate button in the Apps page.

If you have any questions or need help as you convert your site, please send us a message!

What’s the difference between HTTP and HTTPS?

Basically, HTTP is not secure, while HTTPS is.

HTTP stands for HyperText Transfer Protocol, while HTTPS stands for HyperText Transfer Protocol Secure. HTTPS sites are encrypted and are therefore more secure, and each site will have an SSL Certificate that helps “decode” the site for a visitor. This protects that visitor from hackers, particularly against “middleman attacks” where the hacker could steal the visitor’s information by “listening in” during that visitor’s connection to your site.

Will any of my links change?

For the most part, no. Volunteers should be able to access your site’s landing page(s) with the same links they always used. However, if you previously sent direct links to your events in your VolunteerHub site rather than sending users to a specific landing page or the main URL (e.g., yourorg.volunteerhub.com), you will need to provide new Volunteer View links to those events.

For example, if the links you sent previously contain “V1” in the URL (e.g., “https://abc.volunteerhub.com/EventsV1/Event/Summary.aspx?EventID=4451908”), those links will not work in Volunteer View since “Version 1” links are actually administrator-facing pages in the latest version. Instead, you’ll want to click on the Volunteer View button at the top of your site, right-click on the event you want to share and share that link (e.g., https://abc.volunteerhub.com/event/index/4451908) with your volunteers. Notice that the second link does not contain “V1,” which means that’s not an old version (admin) link.

Note that if your site contained customized permissions, some of those permissions may not be compatible with Volunteer View. If you aren't sure, please contact support so we can verify your site's current settings will not cause errors upon updating to Volunteer View.

Otherwise, any necessary preparation of your site will be covered in the aforementioned webinar as well as in this article. This includes sites with buttons in the schedule message, which is now fully supported in the latest version of Volunteer View (but is still not recommended). If you have any questions regarding recommendations or best practices for your schedule message and segmenting your site with Volunteer View, please review the above webinar or send us a message!