Deleting a recurrence master will cancel and delete all future instances of the event, but all historical registration data for instances occurring in the past will remain in the system. Therefore, it is safe to delete unnecessary recurrence masters as long as future instances for that master are not necessary.  Deleted recurrence masters can be undeleted.

For a full guide on how to use recurrence masters, please refer to the Quick Guide on Recurrence Masters