This setting is disabled by default. Organizations can decide to allow a list of registered volunteers to appear within the Volunteer View of an event (see image below). This list contains the first name and last initial of those registered.
If your organization has the Advanced Permissions module, this permission can be applied to select User Groups rather than the site as a whole.
If the event contains a reservation, only users who are a member of the reserved user group(s) may view the names of volunteers signed up under that reservation.
To enable this option for your organization, send us a message (if using Advanced Permissions, please specify the User Group(s) to which the permission should be applied).